News · Markets & Finance

Standing Liquidity Facility for Primary Dealers

The RBI increased its policy repo rate under the Liquidity Adjustment Facility from 5.25% to 5.50%. The decision was announced on October 7, 2026, following the Monetary Policy Statement for 2026-27. It took effect immediately. The change also applies to collateralised liquidity support for Primary Dealers. These institutions can borrow funds from the RBI through the Standing Liquidity Facility, provided they offer acceptable collateral. The borrowing rate is linked to the policy repo rate, so the facility’s rate also became 5.50%. In practical terms, Primary Dealers face a higher cost when obtaining short-term RBI funds. That may influence their funding decisions and market activity. The article does not state the wider economic effects of this specific decision. Generally, however, a higher policy rate can make borrowing more expensive and may help moderate demand and inflation over time.

Based on reporting by Reserve Bank of India — Notifications

What decision did the RBI make about the repo rate and the liquidity facility for Primary Dealers?

The RBI increased its policy repo rate under the Liquidity Adjustment Facility from 5.25% to 5.50%. The decision was announced on October 7, 2026, following the Monetary Policy Statement for 2026-27. It took effect immediately.

The change also applies to collateralised liquidity support for Primary Dealers. These institutions can borrow funds from the RBI through the Standing Liquidity Facility, provided they offer acceptable collateral. The borrowing rate is linked to the policy repo rate, so the facility’s rate also became 5.50%.

In practical terms, Primary Dealers face a higher cost when obtaining short-term RBI funds. That may influence their funding decisions and market activity. The article does not state the wider economic effects of this specific decision. Generally, however, a higher policy rate can make borrowing more expensive and may help moderate demand and inflation over time.

What is a Standing Liquidity Facility, and why is it offered to Primary Dealers?

A Standing Liquidity Facility is a borrowing window through which eligible Primary Dealers can obtain funds from the RBI against collateral. “Standing” means the facility is available under established conditions, rather than requiring a separately negotiated emergency arrangement. The article describes it as collateralised liquidity support.

For example, a Primary Dealer needing temporary cash could borrow from the RBI by pledging eligible securities. It would repay the funds and interest at the applicable repo rate. Because the borrowing is collateralised, the RBI has security if the dealer fails to repay. The facility therefore supports short-term liquidity management.

Primary Dealers are important participants in government securities markets. Reliable access to central-bank funding can help them continue trading and dealing in those securities during periods of tight cash. In this notice, the facility’s rate immediately became 5.50%. The article does not specify eligibility rules, collateral types, or borrowing limits.

How large is the rate increase—from 5.25% to 5.50%—in basis points and percentage terms?

The RBI’s rate moved from 5.25% to 5.50%. Subtracting the old rate from the new rate gives 0.25 percentage points. In central-bank language, one percentage point equals 100 basis points, so 0.25 percentage points equals 25 basis points.

The relative increase is calculated differently. Divide the 0.25-point rise by the original 5.25% rate, then multiply by 100. The result is approximately 4.76%. Thus, the rate increased by 25 basis points, while the rate itself rose by about 4.76% relative to its starting level.

These measures describe the same change from different angles. Basis points are commonly used for interest-rate announcements because they avoid ambiguity between percentage points and percentage changes. The article explicitly states the move was from 5.25% to 5.50%, and that it applied immediately to the policy repo rate and Primary Dealers’ facility rate.

Who are Primary Dealers, and what role do they play in India's government securities and money markets?

Primary Dealers are financial institutions authorised to deal actively in government securities. They typically buy, sell, underwrite, and distribute these securities. Their activity helps the government raise funds and gives investors access to government debt. The article addresses them directly as the institutions eligible for the Standing Liquidity Facility.

For example, a Primary Dealer may purchase government bonds and later sell them to banks, mutual funds, or other investors. It may also quote buying and selling prices, helping investors trade more easily. In money markets, dealers manage short-term funding and securities transactions. Their liquidity needs can change quickly as markets move.

The article does not list the dealers’ specific duties or institutions. These roles are established features of India’s financial system. By offering collateralised RBI liquidity, the Standing Liquidity Facility can support dealers’ short-term funding. The RBI’s notice therefore links the revised 5.50% rate directly to an important group of government-securities and money-market intermediaries.

What happens to the cost of borrowing from the RBI for Primary Dealers because of this rate change?

The RBI’s notice directly raises the borrowing cost for Primary Dealers using its Standing Liquidity Facility. The facility is collateralised liquidity support, meaning dealers borrow against eligible collateral. Its rate was linked to the policy repo rate, which increased from 5.25% to 5.50%.

Suppose a dealer borrows funds from the RBI for a short period. At the old rate, interest would have been calculated using 5.25% annually. Under the new arrangement, the annualised rate is 5.50%. The exact rupee cost depends on the amount borrowed and how long it remains outstanding. Collateral requirements do not remove the interest charge.

The change took effect immediately on October 7, 2026. Therefore, new borrowing under the facility is more expensive at the revised rate. Dealers may respond by using other funding sources, borrowing less, or adjusting trading activity. The article does not say how individual dealers will respond or whether market rates will change by the same amount.

How does the RBI's Liquidity Adjustment Facility use repo transactions to add or remove money from the financial system?

The Liquidity Adjustment Facility is a framework the RBI uses to manage short-term liquidity in the financial system. In a repo transaction, a financial institution receives funds from the RBI against securities and agrees to repurchase them later. This injects money temporarily. The repo rate is the interest charged on that borrowing.

When the RBI wants to remove surplus liquidity, it can conduct the reverse transaction. Institutions place funds with the RBI and receive securities or interest in return, withdrawing cash from the system temporarily. Thus, repo operations generally add liquidity, while reverse-repo-style operations absorb it. The transactions are secured by securities rather than unsecured promises.

The article says the MPC raised the policy repo rate under the LAF from 5.25% to 5.50%. It also says Primary Dealers’ collateralised facility is available at that revised rate. The notice does not describe a particular liquidity operation or its size. It confirms the new price for RBI liquidity support.

Why can changes in the policy repo rate influence interest rates, borrowing, spending, inflation, and economic activity across the wider economy?

The policy repo rate is the RBI’s key price for short-term funds. Banks and financial markets use it as an important reference point. When the RBI raises it, funding can become more expensive for financial institutions. They may then charge higher rates on some loans or offer different returns on deposits and investments.

For example, a bank facing higher short-term funding costs may increase the interest rate on a new business loan. A household could postpone a home, vehicle, or other purchase because monthly repayments become less affordable. Lower borrowing and spending can reduce demand pressures. The effect is transmitted through banks, bond markets, money markets, and expectations, though it is not always immediate or uniform.

On October 7, 2026, the RBI raised the rate from 5.25% to 5.50%. The article does not forecast inflation or growth. Generally, higher rates can help contain inflation over time, while also weighing on investment, consumption, and broader economic activity.

Key Facts:

📌 The RBI raised the repo rate from 5.25% to 5.50%.

📌 The increase took effect immediately on October 7, 2026.

📌 Primary Dealers’ Standing Liquidity Facility rate is now 5.50%.

📌 The facility provides Primary Dealers with collateralised RBI liquidity.

📌 Borrowing occurs at the applicable policy repo rate.

📌 The notice sets the facility rate at 5.50%.

📌 The increase was 25 basis points.

More on JupiteX