Supreme Court directs Centre to grant war injury pension to Army veteran who developed illness during Kargil posting
The Supreme Court directed the Union government to pay Army veteran Narendra Kumar a war injury pension instead of the disability pension he had been receiving. The ruling matters because it confirms that pension benefits must follow the actual words of a government policy, especially when the policy concerns former service members. Kumar developed rheumatoid arthritis while posted at Kargil during Operation Rakshak. After his discharge in 2013, he received a disability pension. The Armed Forces Tribunal allowed his request for a war injury pension in April 2024, and the High Court upheld that decision in August 2025. The Union government then appealed. The Supreme Court dismissed the appeal. It found that Category E(i) of the 2001 Ministry of Defence policy applied once an operation was notified, unless the policy or notification limited it. The Court also ordered the government to state future pension benefits clearly when notifying operations.
What exactly did the Supreme Court order the Union government to give Narendra Kumar?
The Supreme Court directed the Union government to pay Army veteran Narendra Kumar a war injury pension instead of the disability pension he had been receiving. The ruling matters because it confirms that pension benefits must follow the actual words of a government policy, especially when the policy concerns former service members.
Kumar developed rheumatoid arthritis while posted at Kargil during Operation Rakshak. After his discharge in 2013, he received a disability pension. The Armed Forces Tribunal allowed his request for a war injury pension in April 2024, and the High Court upheld that decision in August 2025. The Union government then appealed.
The Supreme Court dismissed the appeal. It found that Category E(i) of the 2001 Ministry of Defence policy applied once an operation was notified, unless the policy or notification limited it. The Court also ordered the government to state future pension benefits clearly when notifying operations.
What is a war injury pension, and how is it different from a disability pension?
A war injury pension is a service benefit for a disability or illness connected with war, combat, or a government-notified war-like operation. A disability pension is a broader benefit paid when a service member leaves with a qualifying disability connected to service. The article does not set out the full legal definitions, but it clearly distinguishes the two benefits in Kumar’s case.
Kumar was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis during his Kargil posting under Operation Rakshak. After leaving the Army in 2013, he received a disability pension. He later argued that the 2001 Ministry of Defence policy entitled him to the more specific war injury pension because the illness began during a notified operation.
The Supreme Court accepted that argument. It held that Category E(i) applied to a notified operation unless the policy or notification excluded it. The Court therefore required the government to replace Kumar’s disability pension with a war injury pension, while urging clearer future notifications.
Where and for how long was Kumar posted when he developed rheumatoid arthritis?
Narendra Kumar was posted at Kargil from 2003 to 2005. The posting lasted two years and took place while he served as part of Operation Rakshak. During that period, he developed rheumatoid arthritis, the illness at the centre of his pension claim.
Kumar had joined the Army in 1996. His Kargil service came several years later, and the article links the origin of his illness to that posting. After he was discharged in 2013, the government paid him a disability pension. He then approached the Armed Forces Tribunal seeking a war injury pension instead.
The location and timing were important because the 2001 Ministry of Defence policy covered disability arising from operations specially notified by the government. The Tribunal found that Kumar’s ailment originated at Kargil. The High Court upheld that finding, and the Supreme Court dismissed the Union government’s challenge.
What were Operation Rakshak and the other military operations mentioned in the case?
Operation Rakshak was the operation under which Kumar served at Kargil between 2003 and 2005. The article also identifies it as an ongoing operation in Jammu and Kashmir. Its status became important because the government argued that the pension policy did not cover ongoing operations in the same way as specifically notified ones.
The Union government contrasted Rakshak with Operations Sindoor and Snow Leopard, which it described as specifically notified operations. It also mentioned Operation Rhino as an ongoing operation in Assam. The article does not provide further descriptions of these operations, but it shows that their classification mattered for pension eligibility.
The Supreme Court rejected the government’s attempt to exclude Rakshak through oral argument. It held that once an operation was notified, Category E(i) applied unless the policy or notification said otherwise. The Court therefore treated Rakshak as covered and directed the war injury pension for Kumar.
Why did the government argue that the 2001 pension policy did not cover Operation Rakshak?
The Union government argued that the 2001 Ministry of Defence policy was narrower than Kumar claimed. In its view, the policy covered specifically notified operations, such as Operation Sindoor or Operation Snow Leopard, but not ongoing operations such as Rakshak in Jammu and Kashmir or Rhino in Assam.
The government also argued that accepting Kumar’s interpretation would make other policy clauses redundant. It warned that the interpretation could entitle every soldier posted in Jammu and Kashmir to the benefit, regardless of the particular circumstances. It additionally relied on Army Order 01 of 2003 to argue that battle casualty reports were not initiated during ongoing operations.
The Supreme Court rejected that reasoning. It said Category E(i) was an enabling provision designed to cover war-like situations flexibly. The Court found nothing, beyond the government’s oral submissions, excluding Operation Rakshak and said the cited Army Order created more confusion than clarity.
How did the Court interpret the policy’s reference to operations specially notified by the government?
The Court interpreted the 2001 policy’s reference to operations specially notified by the government according to its plain wording. It treated Category E(i) as an enabling provision. That meant the government had flexibility to identify war-like situations and extend the relevant pension protection to them.
The key mechanism was notification. The Court said that once an operation was notified, Category E(i) applied to it unless the policy or the notification expressly provided otherwise. It found no such exclusion for Operation Rakshak. The government’s oral claim that Rakshak was outside the policy was therefore insufficient.
This interpretation supported Kumar’s claim. His rheumatoid arthritis developed during his Kargil posting under Rakshak, and the Tribunal found that the ailment originated there. The High Court upheld the decision. The Supreme Court dismissed the government’s appeal and urged it to state clearly which pension benefits apply whenever it notifies future operations.
Why must government agencies follow the plain wording of their policies instead of applying an unstated or narrower intention?
Government agencies must follow a policy’s plain wording because people are entitled to rely on the rules as written. A hidden or narrower intention can create arbitrary, irrational, or discriminatory outcomes. It can also make access to benefits depend on changing explanations rather than published standards.
In Kumar’s case, the policy covered disability arising from operations specially notified by the government. The Court said Category E(i) applied once an operation was notified, unless the policy or notification imposed a limit. The government’s argument that Rakshak was excluded did not appear in the policy or notification. It rested on oral submissions and a disputed Army Order.
The ruling therefore protects predictable decision-making. The Court said it was not the judiciary’s role to restrict unrestrictive pension language through interpretation. It called for clear future notifications and suggested comprehensive, clearly identifiable subordinate legislation to reduce uncertainty over applicable defence rules.
This brief was written by AI from the original reporting and checked by other models. Names, figures and quotes come from the source; read it for full context.
Read more in the JupiteX app
Pulse is free. New stories every 4 hours, each one broken into the questions that explain it.
Or read more news on the web