JupiteX Get the app
Defence & Security29 Oct 2026 · about 6 min

Grant war injury pension to Kargil veteran: Top court

The brief

The Supreme Court directed the Union government to replace Narendra Kumar’s disability pension with a war injury pension. This matters because the Court found that his illness arose during a notified operation and that the government’s narrower reading of its policy was unsupported by the policy’s wording. Kumar developed rheumatoid arthritis while posted at Kargil from 2003 to 2005 during Operation Rakshak. After leaving the Army in 2013, he received a disability pension. He later asked the Armed Forces Tribunal for war injury pension. The tribunal allowed the claim in April 2024, and the high court upheld it in August 2025. The Supreme Court dismissed the Union government’s appeal. It said Operation Rakshak was not excluded by the 2001 policy letter. The government must now grant the war injury pension. The Court also told the government to state future pension entitlements clearly when notifying operations.

01

What exactly did the Supreme Court order the Union government to grant the Kargil veteran?

The Supreme Court directed the Union government to replace Narendra Kumar’s disability pension with a war injury pension. This matters because the Court found that his illness arose during a notified operation and that the government’s narrower reading of its policy was unsupported by the policy’s wording.

Kumar developed rheumatoid arthritis while posted at Kargil from 2003 to 2005 during Operation Rakshak. After leaving the Army in 2013, he received a disability pension. He later asked the Armed Forces Tribunal for war injury pension. The tribunal allowed the claim in April 2024, and the high court upheld it in August 2025.

The Supreme Court dismissed the Union government’s appeal. It said Operation Rakshak was not excluded by the 2001 policy letter. The government must now grant the war injury pension. The Court also told the government to state future pension entitlements clearly when notifying operations.

02

Who was Narendra Kumar, and how many years passed between his joining the Army in 1996 and his discharge in 2013?

Narendra Kumar was an Indian Army veteran who joined the Army in 1996. His service later included a posting at Kargil, where he was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis during Operation Rakshak. His identity matters because his case became a test of how the government’s pension policy applies to illnesses arising during notified operations.

Kumar was posted at Kargil between 2003 and 2005. He was discharged from the Army in 2013 and then received a disability pension. He approached the Armed Forces Tribunal seeking a war injury pension instead. The tribunal accepted his claim in April 2024, and the high court upheld that decision in August 2025.

From joining in 1996 to discharge in 2013, 17 years passed. The Supreme Court ultimately dismissed the Union government’s appeal. Its ruling means Kumar must receive the more specific war injury pension connected to the circumstances of his service.

03

What is a war injury pension, and how is it different from a disability pension?

A war injury pension is a pensionary benefit for disability arising from a warlike situation or an operation specially notified by the government. A disability pension is a broader benefit paid for a service-related disability. The distinction matters because war injury pension is tied to the circumstances and classification of the injury, not simply to the existence of a medical disability.

Kumar developed rheumatoid arthritis while posted at Kargil during Operation Rakshak. After his discharge in 2013, he received disability pension. He argued that the 2001 defence ministry policy covered his condition because it arose during an operation notified under the policy. The tribunal and high court agreed with him.

The Supreme Court upheld that result. The article does not state the specific payment difference between the two pensions. It establishes that Kumar must receive war injury pension instead of disability pension because the policy covered the operation connected to his illness.

04

What was Operation Rakshak, and why did Kumar’s posting there become important to his pension claim?

Operation Rakshak was the operation in which Kumar served while posted at Kargil between 2003 and 2005. The article does not give a fuller description of the operation. Its importance in the case came from the timing and location of Kumar’s illness: he developed rheumatoid arthritis during that posting.

Kumar relied on a 2001 defence ministry policy letter covering disabilities arising from operations specially notified by the government. He argued that the policy applied because his ailment originated at Kargil during Operation Rakshak. The Armed Forces Tribunal accepted that reasoning in April 2024, and the high court upheld it in August 2025.

The Union government argued that the policy covered only specifically notified operations such as Operation Sindoor or Operation Snow Leopard, not ongoing operations such as Rakshak. The Supreme Court disagreed. It found nothing excluding Operation Rakshak and ordered war injury pension for Kumar.

05

What did the 2001 defence ministry policy say about disabilities arising during specially notified operations?

The 2001 defence ministry policy letter covered disability arising from operations specially notified by the government. Its wording was central because Kumar claimed that his rheumatoid arthritis arose during one such operation. The policy determined whether his condition qualified for war injury pension rather than only disability pension.

The relevant provision was Category E(i), which dealt with pensions and notified operations. The Supreme Court described it as an enabling provision. That meant the government had flexibility to cover warlike situations. Once an operation was notified, the provision applied unless the policy or the notification expressly said otherwise.

The Court found no such exclusion for Operation Rakshak. It rejected the government’s attempt to limit the policy to operations it described as specifically notified, including Operation Sindoor or Operation Snow Leopard. The judgment also told the government to identify clearly which pension benefits apply whenever it notifies future operations.

06

Why did the Supreme Court reject the government’s narrower interpretation of the policy’s wording?

The Supreme Court rejected the government’s interpretation because it narrowed the policy beyond its actual words. The Union argued that the 2001 policy covered only specifically notified operations, not ongoing operations such as Rakshak. The Court found no policy language or notification excluding Operation Rakshak.

The Court treated Category E(i) as an enabling provision designed to give the government flexibility in covering warlike situations. It said that once an operation was notified, the provision applied unless the policy or notification stated otherwise. The government’s position rested mainly on oral submissions and on Army Order 01 of 2003, which the Court said created more confusion than clarity.

The judgment required the government to be explicit in future notifications. It must clearly state which pension benefits apply and to whom. The Court also rejected concerns that Kumar’s reading would automatically benefit every soldier posted in Jammu and Kashmir, because entitlement still depends on the policy and the relevant operation.

07

What broader principle does this judgment illustrate about how courts should interpret government policies and protect people from arbitrary decisions?

The judgment illustrates a basic rule of public decision-making: courts should interpret a government policy by what it says, not by an unstated intention. This matters because unclear or selective interpretations can deny benefits to people whom the policy’s wording appears to cover. The Court linked this principle to protection against arbitrary, irrational, or discriminatory outcomes.

In Kumar’s case, the government wanted to limit a policy covering specially notified operations. The Supreme Court found that Category E(i) applied once an operation was notified, unless an exclusion appeared in the policy or notification. It refused to create a restriction through interpretation, especially because the policy concerned pension benefits.

The Court therefore adopted a liberal interpretation and dismissed the government’s appeal. It also noted continuing uncertainty over applicable defence rules and policies. The Court suggested comprehensive, clearly identifiable subordinate legislation for the Services. Clearer rules could improve fairness and governance in future pension claims.

This brief was written by AI from the original reporting and checked by other models. Names, figures and quotes come from the source; read it for full context.

Read more in the JupiteX app

Pulse is free. New stories every 4 hours, each one broken into the questions that explain it.

Or read more news on the web