JupiteX Get the app
Politics & Governance30 Oct 2026 · about 6 min

Census 2027: Self-enumeration to begin on January 10, door-to-door population count from January 25

The brief

Census 2027 gives households an online option before the physical count begins. Self-enumeration will run from January 10 to January 24, 2027. The house-to-house Population Enumeration will then collect individual information from January 25 to February 28. This schedule covers most states and Union Territories. After fieldwork, officials will conduct a revisional round from March 1 to March 5. Households that submit information online will still have their details confirmed during an enumerator’s visit. The census reference date is 00:00 hours on March 1, 2027. Some regions are excluded from this January-February schedule. They include Manipur until further declaration, Goa, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Ladakh, and snow-bound non-synchronous areas of Himachal Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir. The notification does not provide alternate dates for these areas.

01

When will self-enumeration and door-to-door population enumeration take place in Census 2027?

Census 2027 gives households an online option before the physical count begins. Self-enumeration will run from January 10 to January 24, 2027. The house-to-house Population Enumeration will then collect individual information from January 25 to February 28. This schedule covers most states and Union Territories.

After fieldwork, officials will conduct a revisional round from March 1 to March 5. Households that submit information online will still have their details confirmed during an enumerator’s visit. The census reference date is 00:00 hours on March 1, 2027.

Some regions are excluded from this January-February schedule. They include Manipur until further declaration, Goa, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Ladakh, and snow-bound non-synchronous areas of Himachal Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir. The notification does not provide alternate dates for these areas.

02

What is self-enumeration, and how will households use the online system before an enumerator visits?

Self-enumeration is an optional online way for households to provide their census information before the house-to-house count. It is designed to make participation possible before an enumerator visits physically. The facility will be available from January 10 to January 24, 2027, just before Population Enumeration begins.

A household submits its information through the self-enumeration portal. After completing the online form, it receives a unique Self-Enumeration ID. The household can share this ID with the enumerator when the official visits. The enumerator then confirms the submitted information during the field visit.

The portal will be available in 16 languages, including Hindi and English. Online submissions will not replace official verification. Instead, enumerators will confirm and integrate the information into the census process. Census 2027 is India’s first digital census, using mobile applications and other digital tools for collection.

03

Which places are excluded from the January-February 2027 population count, and why are some areas being counted on a different schedule?

The January 25 to February 28, 2027 population count excludes Manipur until further declaration, Goa, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Ladakh, and snow-bound non-synchronous areas of Himachal Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir. These areas are outside the schedule announced for most states and Union Territories.

The notification specifically describes the Himachal Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir locations as snow-bound and non-synchronous. It also places Manipur outside the schedule until further declaration. The article does not explain why Goa, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand or Ladakh are excluded from these dates.

The notification does not announce a separate timetable for the excluded places. Therefore, the article establishes that some regions will not be counted during the January-February window, but it does not state when their population enumeration will occur. The reference date remains March 1, 2027, for the stated census.

04

How large is Census 2027, in terms of the states and Union Territories, villages, towns and sub-districts it will cover?

Census 2027 is planned as a nationwide administrative and statistical exercise on a very large scale. The article states that it will cover 36 states and Union Territories, 7,092 sub-districts, 5,128 statutory towns, 4,580 census towns and approximately 6.39 lakh villages.

These figures show the range of places involved, from rural villages to different categories of towns. Enumerators will collect information from households during Population Enumeration, while digital tools and mobile applications support the broader census operation. The first phase separately focuses on housing and household conditions.

The scale matters because the census produces demographic and socio-economic information for policymaking, resource allocation and planning across sectors. The Union government has approved ₹11,718.24 crore for Census 2027. Some regions are excluded from the January-February population schedule, but the article presents the exercise as covering the country’s states and Union Territories overall.

05

What information will Population Enumeration collect about individuals, including caste, education, employment, migration and disability?

Population Enumeration is the second phase of Census 2027. It collects individual-level demographic, social and economic information from households across the country. This creates a detailed picture of who lives in India and the circumstances recorded for each person.

The notified questionnaire will cover age, marital status, religion, caste, education, employment, migration and disability, among other demographic parameters. Comprehensive caste enumeration is a major new feature. It will collect caste details across communities, rather than limiting systematic caste enumeration to Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes as in earlier census practice described in the article.

The information will be collected digitally through mobile applications and other tools. Enumerators will confirm online submissions during field visits where households use self-enumeration. The resulting data is intended to provide more detailed demographic information and support policymaking, resource allocation and planning across sectors.

06

How could comprehensive caste data from this census affect policymaking, resource allocation and the measurement of social groups?

Comprehensive caste enumeration can make caste groups more visible in national demographic data. Census 2027 is described as the first census since Independence to collect caste details across communities. Until the 2011 Census, systematic caste enumeration covered Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes. The Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs approved the broader approach on April 30, 2025.

The mechanism is straightforward: the Population Enumeration questionnaire will record caste alongside age, religion, education, employment, migration and disability. This combines caste information with other social and economic indicators. The resulting dataset can show more detailed patterns among caste groups than earlier census coverage.

The article says the move is expected to provide more detailed demographic data on caste groups across the country. Such information can support policymaking, resource allocation and planning, which the census generally informs. The article does not specify particular schemes or allocation formulas that will result from the new data.

07

What is a population census, and why do governments conduct one for planning public services and distributing resources?

A population census is a large administrative and statistical exercise that records people and households across a country. In Census 2027, Population Enumeration will capture individual details, while the earlier House Listing and Housing Census records housing conditions, household amenities and assets. Together, the phases describe both residents and their living circumstances.

For example, the second phase will record age, marital status, religion, caste, education, employment, migration and disability. The first phase began in April 2026 and focuses on homes and household resources. Census 2027 will collect this information digitally through mobile applications and other tools.

Governments conduct such an exercise because the resulting demographic and socio-economic information supports policymaking, resource allocation and planning across sectors. It can help describe the population and household conditions that public decisions must address. The article presents the census as one of India’s largest administrative and statistical exercises, with a ₹11,718.24 crore approved outlay.

This brief was written by AI from the original reporting and checked by other models. Names, figures and quotes come from the source; read it for full context.

Read more in the JupiteX app

Pulse is free. New stories every 4 hours, each one broken into the questions that explain it.

Or read more news on the web