JupiteX Get the app
Social Issues3 Nov 2026 · about 7 min

Trial of nine men accused of abusing woman drugged and raped by husband begins

The brief

The nine men are accused of helping abuse a woman who, prosecutors say, was drugged, raped, or sexually assaulted while unconscious. Seven are called contact offenders because they allegedly visited the couple’s Stockport home and participated in the abuse. Two are called non-contact offenders because they allegedly encouraged it online. The labels describe the alleged form of involvement, not separate findings of guilt. The prosecution says the contact offenders included men who entered the home while the victim lay unconscious. Daniel Rayner and David Graves are accused of supporting the abuse through online messages or discussions. Prosecutors say all nine knew she was unaware and were there to use her body while she could not consent. All nine men deny the charges. The court must decide whether the prosecution’s evidence proves each defendant’s individual involvement beyond reasonable doubt. Until verdicts are returned, “contact offender” and “non-contact offender” remain descriptions of allegations, not convictions.

01

What are the nine men accused of doing, and what does it mean that some are described as “contact” offenders while others are “non-contact” offenders?

The nine men are accused of helping abuse a woman who, prosecutors say, was drugged, raped, or sexually assaulted while unconscious. Seven are called contact offenders because they allegedly visited the couple’s Stockport home and participated in the abuse. Two are called non-contact offenders because they allegedly encouraged it online. The labels describe the alleged form of involvement, not separate findings of guilt.

The prosecution says the contact offenders included men who entered the home while the victim lay unconscious. Daniel Rayner and David Graves are accused of supporting the abuse through online messages or discussions. Prosecutors say all nine knew she was unaware and were there to use her body while she could not consent.

All nine men deny the charges. The court must decide whether the prosecution’s evidence proves each defendant’s individual involvement beyond reasonable doubt. Until verdicts are returned, “contact offender” and “non-contact offender” remain descriptions of allegations, not convictions.

02

How many people are involved in the wider case, and over what period did the alleged abuse take place?

The wider case involves 14 men identified in the article. That count includes the unnamed husband, nine men currently on trial, and four other men who have already admitted offences. The woman is the alleged victim, so she is also central to the case, but the male figure is the number of alleged offenders described.

The husband’s offending is said to stretch back to 2004. Prosecutor Louise Oakley said he abused his wife over more than 20 years, first taking advantage of deep sleep and later using drugs. The allegations involving the nine men on trial are said to cover 2015 until the husband’s arrest in 2025.

The case therefore combines a long-running alleged pattern with later alleged participation by others. Three men admitted abuse at earlier hearings, and Karl Lindsay later admitted non-contact offences. The current trial concerns the remaining nine defendants and continues at Manchester Minshull Street crown court.

03

Why is the husband not being named, and how does protecting the victim’s anonymity work in a criminal case?

The article says the husband cannot be named to protect his wife’s anonymity. This protection matters because publishing his identity could make it easier for others to identify the alleged victim, especially through their relationship, home, or surrounding details. The woman’s privacy is protected while the allegations are examined in court.

In practice, anonymity can mean withholding a name and avoiding details that reveal the protected person indirectly. The article follows that approach by calling him “the husband” and referring to the woman as “the victim”. It still reports the charges, evidence, courtroom claims, and other defendants’ names.

The protection does not decide whether anyone is guilty. The husband has pleaded guilty to a number of offences, while the nine men on trial deny their charges. The trial can therefore proceed with evidence being heard, but identifying information about the victim remains restricted. The article does not give the precise legal order or its full terms.

04

What evidence led police to discover the alleged abuse, and why could the husband’s phone and online messages be important at trial?

The alleged abuse came to light after undercover journalists infiltrated a chat on Telegram. The husband was arrested, and police seized his mobile phone. That discovery gave investigators access to material prosecutors say recorded or described the alleged abuse and the involvement of other men.

Prosecutor Louise Oakley called the phone a “confession booth”. She said it contained decades of material from other devices and cameras, including more than a million photographs and videos. Prosecutors say the files catalogued abuse of the woman by her husband and by others, including defendants in court.

Such digital material could be important because it may show what happened, when it happened, who was present, and what participants knew. Messages might also reveal planning, invitations, or encouragement. Its meaning remains for the trial process to assess. The article reports the prosecution’s claims, while the nine defendants deny the charges and the court has not yet reached verdicts.

05

What could happen to the accused men if the jury finds them guilty, and what is the difference between being accused, pleading guilty, and being convicted?

If the jury finds any defendant guilty, the court would sentence him for the offences proved. Possible penalties depend on the exact charges, seriousness, harm, previous record, and individual role. Serious sexual offences can carry imprisonment, but the article does not state the charges’ sentencing ranges or predict what any defendant would receive.

“Accused” means the prosecution alleges a person committed an offence. A guilty plea is a formal admission, usually made in court, and can lead to conviction without a contested trial for those offences. The article says four other men have already admitted offences, while the husband has pleaded guilty to several offences against his wife.

“Convicted” means guilt has been legally established, either after a guilty plea is accepted or after a jury returns a guilty verdict. The nine men currently deny all charges, so they remain accused rather than convicted. Their trial continues, and the outcome and any sentences are not stated in the article.

06

Why can a person who is asleep, unconscious, or drugged not legally consent to sexual activity?

Consent is a person’s free agreement to a specific sexual activity. It requires the ability to understand what is happening and to choose whether to take part. Someone who is asleep, unconscious, or too impaired by drugs cannot make that active choice. Sexual activity in those circumstances therefore cannot be treated as consensual simply because the people know each other.

The prosecution says the woman was deliberately given drugs, sometimes with alcohol, and then abused while unconscious. Oakley said the men knew she was not conscious and were there to use her body while she was unaware. Those allegations explain why the victim’s condition is central to the case.

A court must still assess the evidence and the legal elements of each charge. The article reports the prosecution’s account, not a final finding about the nine defendants. They deny the charges. The husband has already pleaded guilty to a number of offences, while the current trial continues.

07

How do criminal courts distinguish consensual sexual activity from rape or sexual assault when a defendant claims that an apparent lack of consent was part of a fantasy or role-play?

Criminal courts distinguish consensual activity from rape or sexual assault by examining the person’s actual agreement, capacity, and freedom to choose. They also examine the defendant’s state of mind and the evidence about what happened. A private fantasy, earlier discussion, or relationship does not automatically authorize sexual activity when someone is unconscious.

The prosecution anticipates that the defence may argue the woman was pretending to sleep as part of fantasy role-play with her husband. Oakley called that argument a “smokescreen”. She said the men knew the woman was unconscious and that what happened was “rape and sexual assault, pure and simple”.

The jury must decide whether the prosecution proves the required elements against each defendant beyond reasonable doubt. That includes assessing videos, messages, witness accounts, and the circumstances of the alleged encounters. The article does not report a verdict. All nine men deny the charges, and the trial continues at Manchester Minshull Street crown court.

This brief was written by AI from the original reporting and checked by other models. Names, figures and quotes come from the source; read it for full context.

Read more in the JupiteX app

Pulse is free. New stories every 4 hours, each one broken into the questions that explain it.

Or read more news on the web