Cabinet extends Agniveer service by 2 years, clears regular armed forces enrollment route
The major change is a new two-year service option. Under the original Agnipath plan, only 25% of Agniveers would continue in regular service after four years. The other 75% would leave the armed forces. Now, those remaining 75% can be offered a second engagement lasting two more years. Their pay during this period will be higher than their existing emoluments. The extension gives the services more time to assess their performance and gives Agniveers another route toward permanent service. At the end of the extra two years, all willing Agniveers can be enrolled in the armed forces if they meet objective selection criteria. The article does not specify the exact tests or standards. The decision was announced shortly before the first batch was due to begin leaving in phases from mid-November.
What exactly has the Cabinet changed about the Agnipath scheme?
The major change is a new two-year service option. Under the original Agnipath plan, only 25% of Agniveers would continue in regular service after four years. The other 75% would leave the armed forces.
Now, those remaining 75% can be offered a second engagement lasting two more years. Their pay during this period will be higher than their existing emoluments. The extension gives the services more time to assess their performance and gives Agniveers another route toward permanent service.
At the end of the extra two years, all willing Agniveers can be enrolled in the armed forces if they meet objective selection criteria. The article does not specify the exact tests or standards. The decision was announced shortly before the first batch was due to begin leaving in phases from mid-November.
What is an Agniveer, and how does the Agnipath recruitment scheme work?
An Agniveer is a person recruited under the Agnipath model for service in the army, air force or navy. The scheme was introduced in June 2022. It created a shorter initial tenure for personnel below officer rank, lasting four years under the original provisions.
The first group serves for that initial period while the services assess performance. Originally, only 25% of each group could be retained for another 15 years of regular service. The remaining 75% were scheduled to leave after completing four years.
The revised arrangement creates a second stage. The remaining 75% may be offered two additional years, with higher remuneration than before. Once that period ends, willing Agniveers can be enrolled in regular service, provided they meet objective selection criteria. The article does not define those criteria in detail.
How many Agniveers are affected, and how does the new two-year extension change the original plan for the first batch?
The first batch included about 24,400 recruits across the army, air force and navy. Of these, more than 18,300 represented the 75% who were originally scheduled to leave after completing four years. Their phased release was due to begin in mid-November, with exits planned by December 31.
The new decision changes the route for those 18,300-plus Agniveers. Instead of leaving immediately after the original four-year term, they may receive a two-year engagement offer. Their remuneration during that added period will be higher than their existing pay.
The extension does not automatically make everyone a regular soldier. After the extra two years, all willing Agniveers can be enrolled only if they satisfy objective selection criteria. The article does not give the exact criteria, but it makes clear that the decision replaces the original immediate-release plan with an additional assessment period.
What happens to an Agniveer after the extended two-year period, and what does “objective selection criteria” mean in this process?
After the extended two-year engagement, an Agniveer who wants to continue can be considered for enrollment in the armed forces. This creates a possible path from temporary service to regular military service. It applies to all willing Agniveers, rather than limiting consideration to the original 25%.
The final step is conditional. Candidates must meet “objective selection criteria,” meaning the decision is intended to rely on measurable standards rather than simply personal preference. The article connects this process to the services’ four-year assessment of Agniveers and the positive feedback received about their performance.
However, the article does not explain what the criteria will contain. It does not state whether they will involve particular scores, fitness measures, conduct records or other tests. Therefore, the confirmed mechanism is an additional two-year assessment period followed by selection, not automatic permanent enrollment for everyone.
What will happen to the planned release of 75% of the first batch, and how could the change affect the armed forces?
The first batch was due to lose 75% of its members after four years, beginning with phased releases in mid-November. The Cabinet’s decision offers those Agniveers another two-year engagement instead. Therefore, the original immediate-release path changes for people who accept the offer.
This keeps more first-batch personnel in uniform during the added period. Their performance had already received very positive feedback, according to the chief of defence staff. Higher remuneration is intended for this extended engagement, while final regular enrollment remains conditional on objective selection criteria.
The defence minister described the change as a step toward a younger, fitter, technologically equipped and future-ready military. In practical terms, the services may retain more experienced personnel than the original model allowed and gain more time to select regular soldiers. The article does not quantify the eventual effect on force size, readiness or costs.
Why was the Agnipath scheme introduced in 2022, and why did it become politically controversial?
The Agnipath recruitment model was introduced in June 2022 as a new way to bring personnel into the armed forces. The article presents it as a recruitment model for the army, air force and navy, with a shorter initial tenure for personnel below officer rank.
Under the original provisions, recruits served four years, after which only 25% could be retained for regular service for another 15 years. The other 75% were to leave. This structure made a large share of military service temporary rather than a long-term career.
The scheme became a political flashpoint because it reduced the tenure of personnel below officer rank and offered them fewer service benefits. The Cabinet’s new two-year “Second Tour of Duty” changes the first batch’s transition by offering more service time and a later opportunity for regular enrollment, subject to selection.
Why do militaries balance short-term recruitment with long-term regular service, and how does that affect readiness, experience, cost, and the age of their forces?
A military needs enough new recruits to keep its force young, adaptable and physically capable. It also needs experienced people who understand equipment, procedures and leadership. A short-term model can refresh the force and limit long-term personnel commitments, while regular service preserves skills and institutional knowledge.
The balance affects readiness because trained people are more immediately useful than newcomers, but older forces may become less physically youthful. Regular careers generally support deeper expertise and continuity, while shorter service can require repeated recruitment and training. Costs also shift: shorter commitments may reduce long-term obligations, but frequent replacement can create continuing training demands. These are established military-planning considerations, not figures supplied by the article.
The article says the reform aims at a younger, fitter, technologically equipped and future-ready military. The two-year extension adds time to assess performance and may help preserve more experience before final selection, though its precise effects are not quantified.
This brief was written by AI from the original reporting and checked by other models. Names, figures and quotes come from the source; read it for full context.
Read more in the JupiteX app
Pulse is free. New stories every 4 hours, each one broken into the questions that explain it.
Or read more news on the web