Razorpay Gets SEBI Nod For ₹6,000 Cr IPO
An IPO, or initial public offering, is when a private company offers shares to public investors for the first time. It can raise capital and become publicly traded. SEBI approval means Razorpay has received the securities regulator’s approval for its proposed offering, allowing it to move ahead with the IPO process. Razorpay’s planned IPO is expected to include both a fresh issue and an offer-for-sale. A fresh issue creates new shares and raises money for the company. An offer-for-sale lets existing shareholders sell some of their shares. The article does not state the proposed split between the two parts. Approval does not itself complete the listing or guarantee investor demand. Razorpay is expected to list between January and March 2027, if the remaining process proceeds as planned. The offering is expected to value the fintech at about $5 Bn.
What is an IPO, and what does SEBI approval allow Razorpay to do?
An IPO, or initial public offering, is when a private company offers shares to public investors for the first time. It can raise capital and become publicly traded. SEBI approval means Razorpay has received the securities regulator’s approval for its proposed offering, allowing it to move ahead with the IPO process.
Razorpay’s planned IPO is expected to include both a fresh issue and an offer-for-sale. A fresh issue creates new shares and raises money for the company. An offer-for-sale lets existing shareholders sell some of their shares. The article does not state the proposed split between the two parts.
Approval does not itself complete the listing or guarantee investor demand. Razorpay is expected to list between January and March 2027, if the remaining process proceeds as planned. The offering is expected to value the fintech at about $5 Bn.
How large would Razorpay's IPO and expected valuation be, and how do those figures compare with its 2021 valuation?
Razorpay’s proposed IPO could raise ₹5,000-6,000 Cr. The company is expected to be valued at around $5 Bn when it lists. The listing is likely between January and March 2027, according to the sources cited in the article.
The comparison with 2021 is striking. Razorpay commanded a $7.5 Bn valuation in its last funding round that year. Its IPO target of about $5 Bn is therefore roughly $2.5 Bn lower, although the final valuation could differ. The company’s confidential IPO filing targeted a $5 Bn to $6 Bn valuation.
The lower target shows that the planned public-market valuation is below the previous private-market peak. Razorpay has also changed materially since then. It moved its domicile to India, reported ₹3,783 Cr in operating revenue in FY25, and expanded its AI products while preparing to list.
What is the difference between a fresh issue and an offer-for-sale, and who receives the money in each?
A fresh issue creates and sells new shares. The money raised goes to the company, which can use it for growth, technology, operations, or other corporate needs. It also increases the total number of shares, which can reduce existing shareholders’ percentage ownership.
An offer-for-sale, or OFS, sells shares that existing shareholders already own. The proceeds generally go to those selling holders, not to the company. Their ownership decreases, while the company does not receive new capital from that portion. Public investors can buy shares through either component of the offering.
Razorpay’s proposed IPO is expected to include both a fresh issue and an OFS. However, the article says the proposed split could not be ascertained. That means the final balance between company fundraising and shareholder selling remains unknown, along with the precise use of IPO proceeds.
What could happen to Razorpay, its existing shareholders, and public investors when the company lists its shares?
When Razorpay lists, its shares can be bought and sold by public investors. A successful listing could raise the company’s profile, provide capital through the fresh issue, and create a visible market valuation. It could also give existing shareholders a way to sell holdings through the OFS portion.
The outcome depends on demand and performance. If investors respond positively, Razorpay’s share price and market value could rise. If confidence is weak, the shares could list below expectations or fall afterward. Public investors would then bear losses, while the company could face greater scrutiny as a listed business.
Razorpay is expected to list between January and March 2027, but the article does not provide a final price or issue split. It also reported a FY25 loss, despite 65% operating-revenue growth. Investors would therefore assess both its expansion and the costs affecting profitability.
Why did Razorpay move its domicile from the US to India before pursuing the IPO?
A company’s domicile is the country where it is legally based. Moving domicile changes the company’s legal home and can affect the rules, reporting framework, and regulatory processes surrounding it. Razorpay shifted its domicile from the US to India ahead of its planned public listing.
The article does not give a specific explanation for the move. It only places the change in the period before Razorpay pursued the IPO. Razorpay filed its IPO papers through the confidential route in June and later received SEBI approval for the proposed offering.
The move had financial consequences in FY25. Razorpay slipped into the red after recording ₹1,209 Cr in ESOP expenses and one-time restructuring and tax costs linked to the domicile change. Its operating revenue still rose 65% to ₹3,783 Cr. The listing is expected between January and March 2027.
How could Razorpay's operating revenue grow 65% while the company still reported a loss in FY25?
Revenue measures money generated from operations, while profit also reflects expenses. A company can grow sales rapidly and still lose money when its costs rise faster than its revenue. Razorpay’s FY25 results illustrate that difference clearly.
Operating revenue increased 65% to ₹3,783 Cr. However, Razorpay recorded ₹1,209 Cr in employee stock option, or ESOP, expenses. It also faced one-time restructuring and tax costs connected with shifting its domicile from the US to India. Those charges weighed on the bottom line and pushed the company into the red.
The result does not mean operations shrank. It means exceptional and compensation-related costs reduced reported profitability during the year. Razorpay is now preparing for a possible IPO valued around $5 Bn. Investors may examine whether these costs are temporary and whether revenue growth can continue without similar charges.
How does a payment processor make money, and how can real-time AI help it route payments and detect fraud?
A payment processor typically makes money by charging fees for helping merchants authorize, route, and settle digital transactions. Its income can depend on transaction volume and the services it provides. Razorpay offers payment processing alongside business banking, payroll, and lending solutions.
Real-time AI can compare available payment routes while a transaction is happening. Razorpay says its Vulcan model will score routes and help improve payment reliability and safety once deployed. It is also designed to identify fraud patterns across multiple merchants, rather than examining each payment in isolation. Vulcan is a transformer-based AI foundation model.
Vulcan combines Razorpay’s payments data with NVIDIA’s accelerated computing and AWS’ cloud infrastructure. The company is also developing Agent Studio for task-specific business agents. These tools could support payment performance and operations, but the article does not report Vulcan’s results after deployment.
This brief was written by AI from the original reporting and checked by other models. Names, figures and quotes come from the source; read it for full context.
Read more in the JupiteX app
Pulse is free. New stories every 4 hours, each one broken into the questions that explain it.
Or read more news on the web